ARTS 3890 Project 2: CNC Router

Yazhao Li
2 min readMar 4, 2021

--

Idea 1: Rolling marble maze game board

This idea is based on a toy I played with when I was a kid. Instead of this horizontal and vertical obstacle design, I plan to make it like a race track but without walls, so the player needs to control the marble so it doesn’t fall off the track.

My design is that the whole track is surrounded by a lower ditch so that the marble can drop off the track. After dropping off from the track, the player needs to roll the marble to the ramp at the start point. The final design may have a longer track.

Idea 2: Custom mechanical keyboard base and plate

This idea is to use the CNC router to make a keyboard base and a plate for a customized keyboard. The modeling needs to be precise so the standard mechanical keyboard circuit board can fit in the base and the key switches can fit in the plate perfectly. With a circuit board and some mechanical key switches that I can easily buy online, I can assemble a customized mechanical keyboard by myself.

Idea 3: Two-colored Medal

This idea is to make a medal that is made of two different materials. For example, in my design, the white part can be made from aluminum or acrylic and the black part can be made from copper or wood.

--

--